I am from a country that hates whaling.
I live in a country in which whaling is a part of their culture.
When back at home people often associate Japanese people with the stereotypes and in recent years with whaling. So as I have lived in Japan for longer than anyone that my friends and family know, I am the aficionado when it comes to Japan.
Therefore I am expected to explain Japan's actions at every turn and if I defend them I am just as bad as them.
Personally I couldn't give two shits about the whole issue.
I am not saying I want whales to be extinct. This is the last thing that I want. Funnily enough if Japan wants to keep whaling, it is the last thing that they want either.
All arguments about cetacean intelligence and killing methods being inhumane don't sit well with me. The day when the whales become smart enough to evade being caught, or are able to communicate with me and tell me how bad it is then I might start to listen. Humans are at the top of the food chain and just because an animal is 'beautiful' does not mean it should not be taken off the list(or menu for that matter).
I read an interesting article in my local Japanese paper about the issue and both the for and against arguments agreed that killing was not necessary to get most of the data, but not all of it. I don't think that obtaining that last bit of information is worth the extinction of a species. Though I also don't think that a country should have to stop being allowed to do what it has always done, as long as the population of whales is sustainable.
One thing I can say is
Whale jerky goes great with a can of your favourite alcoholic beverage.
Joe from Sea shepherd says "Save the whales!"
My mate Satoshi says "Make sure you save me some whale too!"
Tuesday, 6 April 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

I hate these people so much. Why don't they go support a real cause like feeding starving people. God damn hippies. Let's get some whale for dinner later.
ReplyDeletehttp://www.popcrunch.com/hayden-panettiere-dolphin-saving-tiji-japan-video/
That's a great picture.
ReplyDeleteI didn't care about whales before I came to Japan. Since living here I am actually on the Japanese side. Though it is stupid to kill an animal that might become extinct. Not all of them are though.
I see yer blog was a failure then mate
ReplyDelete